I think I get it? – Joan Mitchell

Joan Mitchell was a Second Generation abstract expressionist painter who was heavily inspired by the tortured soul of Vincent Van Gogh and the lines and fluidity of Henry Matisse. When I first stumbled on one of her paintings on Pinterest, I was intrigued that such scribbles and messiness could possibly be considered high art. However after reading more about her and what she is conveying through her paintings, and just really absorbing the work itself, I feel as though, I think I get it.

11.9 million dollar painting. This sold at auction for that much, the highest amount for a female artist.

Source: Chritie's Sale 2847 Lot 32, Copyright Joan Mitchell

Source: Chritie’s Sale 2847 Lot 32, Copyright Joan Mitchell

A masterpiece?

Joan-Mitchell-Untitled-c.-1960

With this image though I am starting to get it. The balance of chaos..

A 1219623

This one titled, ‘On The Verge’ might take some more time and effort to understand.

Joan-Mitchell_Untitled-c1959-60-

Somehow it’s beautiful right? I love when things push the boundaries and stretch our concepts of truth and beauty into something deeper. I believe her art does that.

Then I saw this one and I really love it.

joan-mitchell-sunflowers

I’d like it in my living room except that it’s gigantic.

 

2 comments
  1. also look at Monet’s water lilies paintings for influence

    Like

Leave a Reply

